The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined property: MyLanguage::$thread_modes - Line: 46 - File: showthread.php(1621) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.27 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1621) : eval()'d code 46 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1621 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New Here
Been interested in Judaism for a long time, planning to convert eventually. I've been keeping Kosher since 2018 but didn't really do it seriously until 2020.

In 2004 or so my father who was a Christian minister in the United Methodist Church started doing a seder. He had previously travelled to Israel and had been constantly incorporating more and more Jewish teachings in his ministry some of which was met with resistance from his congregation.... He used a prayer shaw, was in JfJ, had friends with Messianics but they were a bit dodgy in my opinion.

Back to me having such a lengthy experience in religion and after doing a lot of studying of religious texts I came to the conclusion that Judaism was for me. Wanting to be a Jew by choice I started following the laws. I keep Kosher, take the sabbath off and holy days when I remember to check. I was told by my friends to not get the wrong conversion however I wonder if it matters if I'm not planning on moving to Israel?

Right now I'm gearing up for Pesach but no Seder tray this year from the looks of it. I know some Soviet Jews had it bad doing passover and I have it relatively easy but some things just don't seem to be for sale in West Virginia and I have to shop over in Marietta or Amazon to get a bulk of my supplies outside of fresh water, eggs, vegetables, fruit, salt, etc.
Welcome to the forum Amercani and thank you for your introduction.

Let us know if we can help in any way or answer any questions you may have.

I'm not sure what a "wrong" conversion is. If you convert to where you want to be, then that is what is right for you.